The Nation’s Favourite Carpenters Songs (UK)










Catalog number: UMC 5372270

Track listing:

1. (They Long To Be) Close To You (original extended album version)
2. We’ve Only Just Begun (1985 remix)
3. For All We Know (1991 remix)
4. Rainy Days And Mondays (original album mix)
5. Superstar (original album mix)
6. Hurting Each Other (1991 remix)
7. Goodbye To Love (1985 remix with count-in)
8. It’s Going To Take Some Time (original album mix)
9. Sing (original album mix)
10. Yesterday Once More (1991 remix)
11. Top Of The World (original album version)
12. I Won’t Last A Day Without You (1991 remix, single version, slow with 2000 extension)
13. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) (original album mix)
14. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
15. Only Yesterday (1991 remix, single edit)
16. Solitaire (original album mix)
17. There’s a Kind of Hush (All Over the World) (1985 remix)
18. I Need To Be In Love (original album mix)
19. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (original album mix)
20. Touch Me When We’re Dancing (original album mix)


This 2016 compilation was a tie-in to an ITV special detailing and counting down the top 20 UK favourite Carpenters songs. This compilation though, rather than being in the show’s countdown order, is presented in chronological order. Unlike so many other compilations, this one surprisingly features more than half of the tracks in their original album versions including the extended ending on (They Long To Be) Close To You and even more surprisingly, the original album version of Top Of The World.

Equally unusual is the version of I Won’t Last A Day Without You with its extension first used on THE SINGLES 1969-1981. There, it provided a piano modulation from Richard to change the key for (They Long To Be) Close To You, but here it’s just extended with no actual purpose.

Liner notes were written by Joe Marchese and feature a track-by-track annotation by Richard Carpenter.

Early versions of the CD artwork had the word “You”, from “I Won’t Last A Day Without You”, on its own line on the back track list. Later editions corrected that and moved the “You” up to the line where it rightfully belongs.