Twenty-Two Hits Of The Carpenters


Catalog number: 540 447-2 (Hong Kong)

Track listing:

1. I Need To Be In Love (1990 remix)
2. We’ve Only Just Begun (1985 remix)
3. Superstar (1991 remix)
4. Rainy Days And Mondays (1991 remix)
5. Top Of The World (1973 version, 1991 remix)
6. Sing (1994 remix)
7. Only Yesterday (middle-length edit)
8. Ticket To Ride (1973 version, reversed stereo)
9. Goodbye To Love (1991 remix)
10. It’s Going To Take Some Time (1989 remix)
11. This Masquerade (1990 remix)
12. Sweet, Sweet Smile
13. I Won’t Last A Day Without You (1991 remix, single version, slow)
14. Solitaire
15. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
16. Hurting Each Other (1990 remix)
17. There’s A Kind Of Hush (All Over The World) (1985 remix)
18. Jambalaya (On the Bayou) (1991 remix)
19. For All We Know (1990 remix)
20. Touch Me When We’re Dancing
21. (They Long to Be) Close to You (1991 remix)
22. Yesterday Once More (1985 remix)


A 1995 compilation released in Hong Kong, this was another attempt at a definitive single-disc compilation, and it was a very successful one indeed. It manages to squeeze a full 22 tracks onto one disc, with all of the early tracks in remixed form. The album was subsequently re-released 10 years later in 2005 as a 2-disc anniversary edition paired with the karaoke disc (UICY-1311/2), and later another single-disc edition to keep it in print. It’s also been paired with a DVD.

A Japanese edition of TWENTY-TWO HITS, POCM-1585, was mistakenly issued initially with the original album mixes from the Remastered Classics. Richard, upon finding out about it, had it withdrawn and replaced with the ‘proper’ remixes, making that first issue extremely rare.