Richard Carpenter’s Piano Songbook









Catalog Number: DECCA UCCM-1266 (Japan)
Date Of Release: October 22, 2021 (Japan)

Medium: CD

Track Listing:

1. Medley: Sing / Goodbye To Love / Eve / Rainy Days and Mondays (6:00)
2. I Won’t Last A Day Without You (3:49)
3. For All We Know (2:59)
4. (They Long To Be) Close To You (3:07)
5. Yesterday Once More (3:22)
6. I Need to Be In Love (3:48)
7. The Rainbow Connection  (3:08)
8. Top of the World (3:31)
9. We’ve Only Just Begun (1:25)

Produced, Arranged and Performed by Richard Carpenter
Recorded and Mixed at the Nest, Woodland Hills, California, by “Chapters”
for Robert Irving Productions
Mastered by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood, California
A&R Coordination by Karyn Hughes
Special thanks to Steinway & Sons

While in Japan to promote the RPO album, Richard was asked to play “I Need To Be In Love” on the piano. The performance was seen by Rachel Holmberg of Decca Records in the U.K. and the wheels turned resulting in this album of just Richard at the piano, playing songs from the Carpenters repertoire.

Released in Japan in the fall of 2021, the US version came later on January 14, 2022. The Japanese version included a postcard with the album’s artwork.