Magical Memories Of The Carpenters

Catalog number: RDCD 631-5


Track listing:

Disc One: “CLOSE TO YOU”

1. (They Long To Be) Close To You (1991 remix)
2. Eve (1987 remix)
3. Reason To Believe (1987 remix)
4. Touch Me When We’re Dancing
5. It’s Going To Take Some Time (1989 remix)
6. Help!
7. I Believe You
8. Superstar (1991 remix)
9. Rainy Days And Mondays (1991 remix)
10. Because We Are In Love (The Wedding Song)
11. When You’ve Got What It Takes
12. Boat To Sail
13. Goodbye To Love (1991 remix) (no opening breath)


1.  Yesterday Once More (1985 remix) (revving) + Oldies Medley (all on one track)
Fun Fun Fun (1990 remix)
The End of the World (1990 remix)
Da Doo Ron Ron (1990 remix)
Deadman’s Curve (1990 remix)
Johnny Angel (1990 remix)
The Night Has A Thousand Eyes (1990 remix)
Our Day Will Come (1990 remix)
One Fine Day (1990 remix
Yesterday Once More (Reprise) (1990 remix)
2. We’ve Only Just Begun (1991 remix)
3. Those Good Old Dreams
4. I Can Dream, Can’t I?
5. Flat Baroque (faster)
6. Piano Picker (1987 remix)
7. Sandy
8. I Won’t Last A Day Without You (1991 remix, single version, slow)
9. When I Fall In Love (1990 remix)
10. I Need To Be In Love (1990 remix)
11. Mr. Guder (1990 remix)
12. For All We Know (1991 remix)
13. Crystal Lullaby (1987 remix)
14. Road Ode (1990 remix)

Disc Three: “I NEED TO BE IN LOVE (Concluded)/SWEET SWEET SMILE (Part 1)

1. There’s A Kind Of Hush (All Over The World) (1985 remix)
2. A Song For You (1985 remix)
3. Top Of The World (1973 version, 1991 remix)
4. This Masquerade (1990 remix)
5. (Want You) Back In My Life Again
6. Ticket To Ride (1973 version, reversed, segued)
7. All You Get From Love Is A Love Song
8. Sweet, Sweet Smile
9. Strength Of A Woman
10. Love Is Surrender (1987 remix)
11. Maybe It’s You (1990 remix)
12. All Of My Life (1987 remix)
13. Happy
14. Hurting Each Other (1990 remix)
15. Little Girl Blue
16. (I’m Caught Between) Goodbye And I Love You

Disc Four: “SWEET SWEET SMILE (Concluded)/LOOK TO YOUR DREAMS (Part 1)

1. Saturday
2. One Love
3. Love Me For What I Am
4. Your Baby Doesn’t Love You Anymore
5. Sing
6. Desperado
7. Bless The Beasts And Children (1985 remix)
8. You (sped-up)
9. Two Sides
10. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
11. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (1989 remix)
12. Now
13. I Can’t Make Music (1987 remix)
14. Look To Your Dreams


1. Only Yesterday (middle length edit)
2. I Just Fall In Love Again
3. When It’s Gone (It’s Just Gone)
4. Ave Maria (1990 remix)
5. Don’t Cry For Me Argentina
6. Man Smart, Woman Smarter
7. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) (1991 remix)
8. At The End Of A Song
9. Ordinary Fool
10. Let Me Be The One (1990 remix edit, clean open)
11. Make Believe It’s Your First Time
12. Bacharach/David Medley (Live) (clean open)
13. Sometimes


Reader’s Digest in the UK released this massive 5-disc 1993 compilation that is both similar and different to the US 3-disc compilation from the same company a few years later. It’s also similar to the 4-disc Japanese ANTHOLOGY. All of these compilations attempt to theme together songs that seem to fit with each other.This one has titles for its sections that often span two discs.

Because this set is so massive, it contains quite a bit of the Carpenters repertoire, and thus it has some songs that are not often found on compilations. Unique tracks include a “Let Me Be The One” remix that has a clean open, but leaves the amusing break-down at the end. Another clean open is found on the live “Bacharach/David Medley”, so instead of Karen and Rich’s spoken intro, it just starts with “Any Day Now”. The “Yesterday Once More”/”Oldies Medley” is the remix with DJ and found all on one CD track.

Seldom anthologized, “I Can Dream, Can’t I?” is a welcome addition, as are two remixes that are not often included in compilations: “I Can’t Make Music” and “Road Ode”. The only Christmas track found here is “Ave Maria”, appearing as a remix with choir.

Reader’s Digest in Australia issued this same title a year later with the same tracks and mixes, in the same order, but squeezed them onto four discs – catalog number 300647300. The 5-disc version also made an appearance in Europe with a different cover (K 91007 KB).