Gold (US)

Catalog number: B0001777-02 (CD)

Disc One
1. Superstar (1991 remix)
2. Rainy Days And Mondays (1991 remix)
3. Top Of The World (1973 version, 1991 remix)
4. Maybe It’s You (1990 remix)
5. Let Me Be The One
6. Reason To Believe (1987 remix)
7. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) (1991 remix)
8. Leave Yesterday Behind
9. Your Baby Doesn’t Love You Anymore
10. Bless The Beasts And Children (1991 remix)
11. It’s Going To Take Some Time (1989 remix)
12. The Rainbow Connection
13. Only Yesterday (1991 remix, single edit)
14. Sweet, Sweet Smile
15. There’s A Kind Of Hush (All Over The World) (1985 remix)
16. California Dreamin’
17. Solitaire (single version)
18. We’ve Only Just Begun (1985 remix)
19. This Masquerade (1990 remix)
20. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (1989 remix)

Disc Two
1. Yesterday Once More (1991 remix)
2. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
3. Hurting Each Other (1991 remix)
4. I Need To Be In Love (1990 remix)
5. Merry Christmas Darling (1978 album version)
6. (They Long To Be) Close To You (1991 remix)
7. All You Get From Love Is A Love Song
8. Sing (1994 remix)
9. Make Believe It’s Your First Time
10. Ticket To Ride (1973 version)
11. Goodbye To Love (1991 remix)
12. I Just Fall In Love Again
13. I Believe You
14. Tryin’ To Get The Feeling Again (1995 cleanup)
15. For All We Know (1990 remix)
16. Touch Me When We’re Dancing
17. I Won’t Last A Day Without You (1991 remix, single version, slow)
18. Mr. Guder (1990 remix)
19. A Song For You (1985 remix)
20. Karen’s Theme


The US version of GOLD was released in 2004 as part of the 35th Anniversary celebration.  This two-disc set improved upon the number of tracks in YESTERDAY ONCE MORE by stretching it to 20 on each disc.  Included were three tracks that Japan had already gotten on AS TIME GOES BY, but that hadn’t yet appeared in the US, “Leave Yesterday Behind”, “The Rainbow Connection”, and “California Dreamin'”.  It also gave fans a CD version for the first time of the single mix of “Solitaire.”

Also in 2004, Universal A&M got together with Richard Carpenter to auction off 100 special pressings of the GOLD package, numbered and autographed by Richard. These sets had Richard’s signature and date signed with gold pen on the jacket cover; each CD had a “Collector’s Edition box on the face of the CDs with the number out of 100. The back insert also contained the number out of 100 in a special gold box. The date of February 2004 was also listed in these boxes. The auctions were held on Ebay and bidders could bid on any of the 100 that were out there. Toward the end of the auction, a small bunch of this 100 were put in frames and also auctioned off.

Much like YESTERDAY ONCE MORE/CLASSICS, the set was re-released a year later as part of Universal’s series of 2-disc sets called GOLD.  Gone was the ABBA-like black cover and the 35th anniversary subtitle, replaced with the shot of Karen and Richard in his car that had been used on AS TIME GOES BY.  The discs are identical in their content and catalog numbers.