Christmas Collection

Catalog number: 31454 0603 2

Track listing:

Disc One (Christmas Portrait):

1. O Come, O Come Emmanuel (1992 remix)*** :28 (P.D. Arrg. & Adapted by Richard Carpenter)
2. Overture (1992 remix)*: 4:38
 – a. Deck The Halls (With Boughs Of Holly) / (P.D. Trad French Carol)
 – b. I Saw Three Ships (P.D. Trad Welsh Carol)
 – c. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (Martin/Blane)
 – d. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (P.D. Trad English Carol)
 – e. Away In A Manger (Luther’s Cradle Hymn) / (P.D. Luther/Mueller/Spilman)
 – f. What Child Is This? (Greensleeves) / (P.D. Will C. Dix)
 – g. Carol Of The Bells (P.D. Trad Ukranian Carol)
 – h. O Come All Ye Faithful (Adeste Fideles) / (P.D. English version: Oakeley/Wade/Reai)
3. The Christmas Waltz (1992 remix)* 2:15 (Cahn/Styne)
4. Sleigh Ride (1992 remix)** 2:39 (Parish/Anderson)
5. It’s Christmas Time/Sleep Well, Little Children (1992 remix)* 2:53(Young/Stilman/Bergman/Klatzkin)
6. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (1992 remix)** 3:55 (Martin/Blane)
7. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town (1992 remix)* 1:05 (Giliespie/Coots)
8. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire) (1992 remix)** 3:39 (Torme/Wells)
9. Silent Night (1992 remix)* 3:19 (P.D. Orig. Music by Franz Gruber, Arrg. & Adapted by Peter Knight)
10. Jingle Bells (1992 remix)* 1:10 (P.D. Orig Music: James Pierpont, Arrg. & Adapted by Peter Knight)
11. The First Snowfall/Let It Snow (Medley) (1992 remix)* 3:35 (Webster/Burke) & (Cahn/Styne)
12. Carol Of The Bells (1992 remix)* 1:39 (P.D. Trad Ukranian Carol, Arrg. & Adapted by Richard Carpenter)
13. Merry Christmas Darling (1978 album version)+*** 3:05 (Pooler/Carpenter)
14. I’ll Be Home For Christmas (1992 remix)** 3:48 (Gannon/Kent/Ram)
15. Christ Is Born (1990 remix)* 3:13 (Charles/Bartolucci)
16. Medley (1996 full medley remix)**: 5:31
 – a. Winter Wonderland” (Smith/Bernard)
 – b. Silver Bells” (Livingston/Evans)
 – c. White Christmas” (Berlin)
17. Ave Maria (1990 remix)* 2:35 (P.D. Original Music: Johann Sebastian Bach, Adapted by Charles Gounod, This arrg & adaptation by Peter Knight)


Produced by Richard Carpenter
Associate Producer Karen Carpenter
Lead Vocals: Karen Carpenter and Richard Carpenter
Arranged by Peter Knight*, Billy May**, and Richard Carpenter***
Keyboards: Pete Jolly and Richard Carpenter
Bass: Joe Osborn
Drums: Ron Tutt and Cubby O’Brien
Guitars: Bob Bain, Tony Peluso and Tommy Tedesco
Harp: Gayle Levant and Dorothy Remsen
Oboe: Earl Dumler and John Ellis
Tenor Sax: Bob Messenger
Vocals: The Tom Bahler Chorale and Karen & Richard Carpenter
Engineered by Ray Gerhardt, Roger Young and Dave Iveland
Mastering Engineer: Bernie Grundman
+”Merry Christmas Darling” Produced by Jack Daugherty
Special Thanks to: Ed Sulzer
Personal Management: Jerry Weintraub / Management Three

Disc Two (An Old-Fashioned Christmas):

1. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear :43 (Sears/Willis)
2. Overture 8:13
 – a. Happy Holiday (Berlin) Irving Berlin Music Company, adm. by Williamson Music Company (ASCAP)
 – b. The First Noel (P.D. Trad. Old English Carol)
 – c. March Of The Toys (Herbert) Warner Bros., Inc. (ASCAP)
 – d. Little Jesus (P.D. From the Oxford Book Of Carols)
 – e. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus (Connor) Jewel Music Publishing Co., Inc. (ASCAP)
 – f. O Little Town Of Bethlehem (P.D. L.H. Redner) Longitude Music Co. (BMI)
 – g. In Dulce Jubilo (P.D. 14th Century German melody)
 – h. Gesu Bambino (The Infant Jesus) (Yon) Beam Me Up Music (ASCAP)
 – i. Angels We Have Heard On High (P.D. Trad. French Carol)
3. An Old-Fashioned Christmas 2:34 (Carpenter/Bettis)
4. O Holy Night 3:31 (P.D. Adolphe Adam/Adapted by Richard Carpenter)
5. (There’s No Place Like) Home For The Holidays 2:13 (Allen/Stillman)
6. Medley 3:43
 – a. Here Comes Santa Claus (Autry/Haldeman) Gene Autry’s Western Music Publishing (ASCAP)
 – b. Frosty The Snowman (Nelson/Rollins) Chappell & Co. (ASCAP)
 – c. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer (Marks) St. Nicholas Music Inc. (ASCAP)
 – d. Good King Wenceslas (P.D. John Mason Neale, Adapted by Richard Carpenter) Almo Music Corp./Hammer and Nails Music, adm. by Almo Music Corp. (ASCAP)
7. Little Altar Boy 3:43 (Smith)
8. Do You Hear What I Hear? 2:53 (Regney/Shayne)
9. My Favorite Things 3:53 (Rodgers/Hammerstein)
10. He Came Here For Me 2:12 (Nelson)
11. Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town 4:04 (Gillespie/Coots)
12. What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve? 2:51 (Loesser)
13. Selections from “The Nutcracker” 6:14 (P.D. Peter Illych Tchaikovsky, Adapted by Richard Carpenter)
 – a. Overture Miniature
 – b. Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairy
 – c. Trepak
 – d. Valse Des Fleurs
14. I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day 2:21 (Marks/Longfellow, Adapted by Johnny Marks)

Album Credits:

Conceived and Produced by Richard Carpenter
Lead vocals: Karen Carpenter and Richard Carpenter
Piano: Richard Carpenter
Arranged by: Peter Knight (#2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14), Richard Carpenter (#1, 11) and Billy May (#10)
Keyboards: Richard Carpenter & Pete Jolly
Upright Bass: Pete Morgan
Electric Bass: Joe Osborn
Drums: Ron Tutt & Barry Morgan
Harp: Skiala Kanga & Gayle Levant
Tenor Sax: John Phillips
Vocals: The O.K. Chorale Conducted by Dick Bolks, The English Chorale Conducted by Robert Howes, Karen & Richard Carpenter
Recorded at:
A&M Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA
Engineered by Roger Young, Ray Gerhardt and Robert De La Garza
EMI “Abbey Road” Studios
Engineered by Eric Tomlinson
Assistant: Allan Rouse
Mixed at:
A&M Recording Studios
Engineered by Roger Young
Assistants: Clyde Kaplan & Jim Cassell
Evergreen Studios
Engineered by John Richards
Assistants: Dave Marquette & Mike Hatcher
Mastered by Arnie Acosta at A&M Mastering Studios, Hollywood CA
Santa Claus Is Coming To Town Produced by Jack Daugherty and Richard & Karen Carpenter


CHRISTMAS COLLECTION was released first worldwide in 1996 but took longer to get a release in the US. It combined both Christmas albums, in their entirety, and furthermore featured a near-total-remix of the CHRISTMAS PORTRAIT. “Merry Christmas Darling” was featured in its original album mix from 1978.

This set finally placed all of the Carpenters Christmas material onto CD for the first time.