Carpenters – The Complete Singles


Catalog number: B0024049-02 IN02

Track Listing:

Disc One:
1. Ticket To Ride (mono 45 version)
2. Your Wonderful Parade (mono 45 version)
3. (They Long To Be) Close To You (single)
4. I Kept On Loving You (clean open single)
5. We’ve Only Just Begun
6. All Of My Life
7. Merry Christmas Darling (1970 single version)
8. Mr. Guder (edited single version)
9. For All We Know
10. Don’t Be Afraid
11. Rainy Days And Mondays
12. Saturday
13. Superstar
14. Bless The Beasts And Children
15. Hurting Each Other
16. Maybe It’s You
17. It’s Going To Take Some Time
18. Flat Baroque (original album mix)
19. Goodbye To Love
20. Crystal Lullaby (single version, end fade)
21. Sing
22. Druscilla Penny
23. Yesterday Once More (single mix)
24. Road Ode (single edit)
25. Top Of The World (1973 version)
26. Heather

Disc Two:
1. I Won’t Last A Day Without You (1974 single mix, fast)
2. One Love
3. Please Mr. Postman (single mix)
4. This Masquerade
5. Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town (single version)
6. Only Yesterday (single edit)
7. Happy
8. Solitaire (single version)
9. Love Me For What I Am
10. There’s A Kind Of Hush (All Over The World) (single mix)
11. (I’m Caught Between) Goodbye And I Love You
12. I Need To Be In Love (single edit)
13. Sandy
14. Goofus
15. Boat To Sail
16. All You Get From Love Is A Love Song
17. I Have You
18. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (single edit)
19. Can’t Smile Without You (single version)
20. Sweet, Sweet Smile
21. The Christmas Song (single version – clean open)

Disc Three:
1. I Believe You
2. B’Wana She No Home (modern mono-ized mix)
3. Don’t Cry For Me Argentina
4. Touch Me When We’re Dancing
5. Because We Are In Love (The Wedding Song)
6. (Want You) Back In My Life Again
7. Somebody’s Been Lyin’
8. Those Good Old Dreams
9. When It’s Gone (It’s Just Gone)
10. BEechwood 4-5789
11. Two Sides
12. Make Believe It’s Your First Time (single edit)
13. Look To Your Dreams (single edit)
14. Your Baby Doesn’t Love You Anymore
15. Sailing On The Tide
16. Honolulu City Lights
17. I Just Fall In Love Again
18. If I Had You (1989 Carpenters remix)
19. The Uninvited Guest


Created especially for Public Television in 2015, this three disc set is one that fans have been clamoring for for years. It was almost a reality with the JAPANESE SINGLE BOX, but that one mirrored the releases in that country, and differed with the US release.

All of the singles are here, and all have been sourced from original single master tapes, with just two exceptions: the first two mono tracks were sourced from original vinyl. The discs were supervised by Richard Carpenter and Jim Pierson, produced by TJ Lubinsky of the MY MUSIC series on PBS, and released through A&M/Universal Special Markets.

Some of the mixes of these tracks are making their first-ever appearance on CD, like the two mono tracks to start out. They have very different mixes from the stereo album versions. Also you’ll find the rare “Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town” in its 1974 single version, the abbreviated “Mr. Guder”, and “Look To Your Dreams” shortened by eliminating Richard’s piano outro that closed the VOICE OF THE HEART album.

Though the set promised a complete set of the Carpenters singles, a couple of b-sides leaked through with album versions instead of what appeared on the 45s. “B’wana She No Home”, on the Remastered Classics disc of PASSAGE sounds a bit muddy and somewhat “mono-ized”. That’s the version that is on this singles set. The single version had more highs and a flying reverb off to the right. That’s missing here. Meanwhile, a slightly altered “Flat Baroque” appeared on the 45 with Richard’s piano split into left, right, and center. The album version reduced it all to the center, and that’s what mistakenly appears here.

The three discs themselves use artwork from the three main eras of A&M labels that Carpenters recorded under: the old ochre color, the silver & tan design, and the flying red logo design – a classy package.

At present, this set is exclusively available as a premium with a subscription to Public Television, and is being marketed as such in conjunction with an updated version of the video called CLOSE TO YOU: REMEMBERING THE CARPENTERS.

The set remained an exclusive for Public Broadcsting through 2020. In 2021, it began to be offered by the publisher, for a reasonable price of $39.98.