Anthology (97)

Catalog number: POCM-1556/9 (Japan)

Track listing:

Disc One:

1. A Song For You (1985 remix)
2. Top Of The World (1973 version, 1991 remix)
3. Because We Are In Love (The Wedding Song)
4. We’ve Only Just Begun (1991 remix)
5. Those Good Old Dreams
6. Sing (1994 remix)
7. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) (1991 remix)
8. (They Long To Be) Close To You (1991 remix)
9. Ave Maria (1984 remix)
10. Bless The Beasts And Children (1985 remix)
11. All You Get From Love Is A Love Song
12. Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft (1989 remix)

Disc Two:

1. Desperado
2. Superstar (1991 remix)
3. Rainy Days And Mondays (1991 remix)
4. This Masquerade (1990 remix)
5. (Want You) Back In My Life Again
6. Ticket To Ride (1973 version, reversed stereo, segued)
7. Yesterday Once More (1985 remix) (revving) + Oldies Medley (all on one track)
Fun Fun Fun (1990 remix)
The End of the World (1990 remix)
Da Doo Ron Ron (1990 remix)
Deadman’s Curve (1990 remix)
Johnny Angel (1990 remix)
The Night Has A Thousand Eyes (1990 remix)
Our Day Will Come (1990 remix)
One Fine Day (1990 remix
Yesterday Once More (Reprise) (1990 remix)

Disc Four:

1. (I’m Caught Between) Goodbye And I Love You
2. Please Mr. Postman (1991 remix)
3. I Need To Be In Love (1990 remix)
4. On The Balcony Of The Casa Rosada
5. Don’t Cry For Me Argentina
6. Mr. Guder (1990 remix)
7. I Kept On Loving You
8. Two Lives
9. Only Yesterday (middle length edit)
10. Bacharach/David Medley (Live):
– Any Day Now
– Baby It’s You
– Knowing When To Leave
– Make It Easy On Yourself
– (There’s) Always Something There To Remind Me
– I’ll Never Fall In Love Again
– Walk On By
– Do You Know The Way To San Jose
11. Sometimes


ANTHOLOGY had been released in Japan on a limited edition LP set in 1985 and more widely on CD in 1989 and, at the time, was the foremost compilation of Carpenters material attempted. It was a massive four-disc set containing all the hits, favored album tracks, and even the entire oldies medley album side. It was the first time the world was treated to Carpenters’ version of “Honolulu City Lights” and marked the first release of the live Bacharach/David Medley.

It went out of print and became a highly sought-after item, so eight years later in 1997, Richard and A&M Japan re-released it, with the new cover, pictured above, and a boatload of new and different remixes that had evolved with the passage of time. As a result, some of the liner notes, that were not updated, refer to things that aren’t in evidence on this version of the set. An example would be with “Goodbye To Love.” Richard’s notes go into great detail about the opening breath, his count-in being audible through Karen’s headphone leakage, when in fact none of that is present on the track in the ’97 ANTHOLOGY. (You can hear that on FROM THE TOP though, or the older ANTHOLOGY if you’re looking for it.)

Other changes added the “Casa Rosada” intro to “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina” as a separate track, removed a number of segues, and combined the full side two of NOW AND THEN (“Yesterday Once More”, the Oldies Medley, and the reprise) all into one track. On the prior ANTHOLOGY, the reprise was separated out as its own track.