A&M New Gold Series, Vol. 1

Catalog number: PCCY-10090 (Japan)

Track listing:

1. (They Long To Be) Close To You (single edit)
2. Top Of The World (1973 version)
3. Superstar (1985 remix)
4. I Won’t Last A Day Without You (1972 album mix, fast)
5. Rainy Days And Mondays (1985 remix)
6. Goodbye To Love (1985 remix)
7. Ticket To Ride (1973 version)
8. Reason to Believe (1987 remix)
9. Love Is Surrender
10. It’s Going To Take Some Time
11. Desperado
12. Solitaire
13. Let Me Be The One
14. Touch Me When We’re Dancing
15. Can’t Smile Without You
16. Sweet, Sweet Smile
17. I Need To Be In Love (1985 single length remix)
18. Make Believe It’s Your First Time


Part of a massive series of A&M artist releases in Japan, the 1990 A&M New Gold Series featured two individual volumes of Carpenters material.  This is Volume One, and a year later a very similar track listing to this volume appeared in Europe as just the A&M Gold Series (in Australia as STARTRAX) with a purple cover.  The main difference was in track #15, where “Can’t Smile Without You” was replaced with “Those Good Old Dreams”. A few different remixes appeared on the later editions, too.